Fashionable Distractions

May 27, 2011 § 3 Comments

Spending so much time on academic endeavors leads to many  fashion daydreams, or basically me just wasting time pretend shopping on the internet. Browsing through fashion blogs and online store-fronts adds a little relief to an otherwise thesis centered day. Plus it’s a little motivating too. I like to think that upon graduating I might actually get a job that pays me well enough to afford some of my fashion fantasies.

I’ve recently become obsessed with Club Monaco. Their clothes have a simple sophisticated, yet international vibe about them. Ideally that’s how I’d like to define my sense of style.

all images from the club monaco spring & fall 2011 lookbook

In case you were wandering about my post-marathon running life, its been pretty low key. I still try to workout 5-6 days a week, but I’ve cut back on my running a lot. I’ve been sticking to 3-6 mile distances for my runs, & have ended up at around 15 miles a week this month. I wanted to give my body some time to adjust to not running every day, but it seems like the more I’ve cut back, the worse my knees feel. For instance, I did 5 miles this morning at about a 9:30 pace and for the rest of the day my right knee has been acting up pretty bad. Every time I attempt to go down stairs it stings in pain & is even a little feverish to the touch. I still enjoy running but I think my joints need a little rest so I’m not making daily runs a part of my workout routine for a while.

I did order the Barre3 DVD a week ago. I’ve heard great things about this workout, so I’m really excited to try it out and hopefully work it into my weekly regimen.

For now I’m looking forward to spending some time catching up with Don since we’ve got a 4 day weekend! Hopefully it will include some fun, blog worthy adventures :)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Fashionable Distractions

  • natalie says:

    I LOVE that second outfit!!!

    Take it easy lady, hope you have an amazing 4 day weekend!

  • Kara says:

    I’ve read a study that shows an increase in knee pain/injuries in women who run slower. It something to do with the angle of our wider hips and how a slower stride doesn’t allow for full extension. You may actually be hurting yourself by trying to slow down from your natural pace. Taking time off is always a good idea, but that’s my two cents about trying to just run slower to give yourself a break. :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fashionable Distractions at .

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

