Closer to 30 than 20!

October 7, 2010 § Leave a comment

Today is my 26th birthday!

I must admit, it’s been a rough year for me. Not working and feeling very unmotivated put me in quite a funk for the better part of 2010.

I’ve turned things around in the past few months though, and started to prioritize goals in my life and I’m feeling much more like myself.

That being said, I got the most heartfelt birthday gift from Don. It’s a silver pendant on a necklace. On one side there is an engraved compass rose, and the other side reads this quote taken from William Earnest Henley’s Invictus

I am the master of my fate

I am the captain of my soul.

Isn’t that the perfect quote for me to reflect on every day? I think so. And to feel so understood by my husband – to know that he ‘get’s me’ well that’s the real gift.

Since I’ve started a bit of a theme here, I thought I’d share some of the things that I would like to accomplish for myself this year:

  • Finish my Thesis/Masters Degree
  • Get a job doing something I love that involves helping others
  • Run my first Marathon
  • Develop this Blog!
  • Find a few minutes to meditate each day
  • Cook more creative healthy recipes
  • Become a member of a food co-op
  • Volunteer at least twice a month
  • Learn to surf
  • Live more simply

We went to the River Valley Cafe for my birthday dinner and it was sooo good.

Appetizer: Sesame Encrusted Ahi Tuna Over Asian Slan & Finished with a Ginger Vinaigrette

Main: Pepper Rubbed Sirloin Sliced Thin & Served Over Wild Mushroom Risotto. Finished with Balsamic Reduction & Grilled Asparagus

Sorry no pics…I’m not courageous enough to whip out the camera and take pictures of my dinner before I taste it. You’ll just have to trust me when I say it was the best dinner I’ve had in San Angelo!


Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Closer to 30 than 20! at .

meta

