Cleaning out the Pantry Cookies

October 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

So in an effort to use up of a bunch of baking goods that we can’t ship overseas with our household goods, I decided to make some experimental cookies. They were based off of a vegan recipe that my sister made with applesauce, but these are not vegan.

Cleaning out the Pantry Cookies:


1 stick unsalted butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg + 1 egg white

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp milk

2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup old fashioned oats

1/4 cup organic steel cut oats

2 tbsp flax seeds

1/4 cup craisins (add more to taste)

1/4 cup raisins (add more to taste)

1. Set oven to 350

2. Melt butter & stir in brown sugar, sugar, eggs, egg white, milk & vanilla

3. In a separate bowl mix whole wheat flour, salt & baking soda

4. Slowly pour flour mixture into the butter & sugar mixture until well mixed.

5. Add oats, flax & craisin/raisins.

6. Put on cookie sheet & bake 15-18 min or until your house smells delicious 🙂

And Voila!

I did a distance training run today so I earned those cookies!

9 miles in 1hr:26min. Barely faster than a 10 min mile but my knee was giving me issues again. I’ve been running on a trail for most of my long runs & I think that the constant change in terrain is doing something funky to my knee. I’ve been wearing a brace but once I go past 6 miles it gets really uncomfortable. I have a feeling tomorrow is going to be a rest day. I don’t want to be injured before the St. Pete 1/2 Marathon in November!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cleaning out the Pantry Cookies at .

meta

