Sunday Traditions & Healthy Inspiraton

October 18, 2010 § Leave a comment

Don & I have a Sunday morning tradition of watching Meet the Press.

Literally every Sunday morning Don & I have spent together since we met, has started with Meet the Press. Political junkies we are. I’m sure that there’s a political rant just waiting to be posted on here, but for now I’m going to try and stay neutral. Even though I have a B.A. (& soon an M.A.) in Political Science, I’d be lying if I didn’t say that politics can annoy they heck out of me. To the point where watching the news literally gives me anxiety. But I like MTP because it is an open forum where issues are discussed, most of the time in a mature straight forward way. And the host or as MTP calls it the ‘moderator’ David Gregory, doesn’t push his political agenda. This week there was a lot of talk about the upcoming elections. All I’m going to say about the elections is I turned in my absentee ballot last week. I almost didn’t want to because anymore voting feels like you are choosing the lesser of two evils, but we live in a democracy – and that means it is our responsibility to participate.


So yesterday morning after MTP I headed out to do my next distance training run.

12 miles in 1hr 58min (with hills & wind) = exhaustion.

After that I spent my last Sunday in San Angelo packing up what’s left of the household goods.

One of the last things I boxed up was my magazine collection. Yes I said collection. I’ve always been a magazine fiend. Some might even say that I hoard magazines. My top 3 favorites are

1) Domino (even though it no longer exists)

2) Lucky (I think I have every issue ever printed)

3) Women’s Health

and the newest edition

4) Runner’s World

As I was thumbing through some of my old fitness magazines, deciding which ones to recycle I started to think up a list of female celebrities who are positive role-models for health, fitness & a healthy body image. Here are a few famous ladies that inspire me.

*Note* I’m not advocating comparing one’s self with celebrities, athletes, or anyone else for that matter. There should always be a room for inspiration without being self critical!

Kristen Bell

In a recent issue of Shape magazine Kristen Bell shared her ‘30 Rules to Live By. One of my favorite things she says is, “I like to stay fit and challenge myself. But I’m not going to try to be a certain size, or weigh a specific amount. I don’t own a scale. My goal is to feel good and look healthy.” Personally, this has been a hard lesson for me to learn. I’ve been scale obsessed for most all of my adult life. Although, since I’ve started running and working out for reasons unrelated to weight loss I’ve noticed I don’t even have an urge to weigh myself. My jeans fit & so I’m happy. I’m no longer letting the number on the scale dictate how I feel about myself for the day.

Jessica Biel

If I could work-out with any celebrity for a day it would definitely be Jessica Biel. Not only is she incredibly fit but she stay’s healthy in body & spirit by taking on important global awareness campaigns like climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro in January of 2010 to bring attention to the global water crisis.

Shakira

When most people think of Shakira, the first thing that comes to mind is her insane Belly Dancing skills. She is a great example of how staying fit and healthy can be achieved and maintained by more than traditional cardio. I took Belly Dancing classes a few years ago at Orlando Belly Dance. Not only is it a ton of fun, but it’s a great confidence booster!

Hope you have an inspired day!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday Traditions & Healthy Inspiraton at .

meta

