The Ocean

November 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

The true peace of God begins at any spot a thousand miles from the nearest land.  ~Joseph Conrad

It’s no secret that I love the ocean. I was born & raised in Florida, so being near the water is almost essential to my happiness.

Today Don & I finally made it to the beach.


We went to Siesta Key which boasts the title of #2 beach in the USA due to its insanely soft white sand.

After a nice long siesta in the sun, we went back to St. Armands and enjoyed some delicious casual Italian dining at Venizia.

We split a greek salad

and I had an authentic caprese panini.

And we couldn’t leave without stopping, once again, at Le Macaron. Irresistible.

This time we tried the Gingerbread Macaron with espresso, along with the Pistachio macaron and the Walnut macaron (Gingerbread was the best).

It’s going to be a busy week, but I’m striving to fit in at least 20 miles before the race on Sunday. Today I ran 5 miles, despite the suffocating humidity. I am praying the weather cooperates on race day, since the humidity can seriously affect pace.

Yesterday I went back to Fit2Run on University Parkway in Sarasota. I was looking for new shoes and in the process met the most inspiring store attendant, Joe. He seemed to be around 60 years old and informed us that he’s run over 240 marathons, 4 of which were 100 mile ultra’s! I felt like I was meeting a celebrity!

So of course I listened to his shoe advice and ended up purchasing the Asics 2150 in a narrow width. Since I slightly overpronate on my left leg I’ve often suffered from knee pain and arch blisters. I was running in the Mizuno Wave Rider 13 which I liked because it was lightweight – but since it was a neutral shoe it did little to correct my overpronation. I’m hoping to break in the new shoes in time for the race on Sunday.

I’m staring to get really excited & I can’t wait to check out the Expo on Saturday when I go to pick up my race number.

Tomorrow we’re spending the day in St. Petersburg, & I’m going to be a model for my sister’s Cosmetology class at Aveda. Pictures will follow 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Ocean at .

meta

