Giving Thanks & Getting Emotional

November 27, 2010 § 2 Comments

This Thanksgiving was exceptional for many reasons.

1) I’m Thankful that Don & I could spend the holiday together – last year he was in Texas while I was in Florida preparing for our December wedding. So he spent Thanksgiving at a Squadron dinner & I spent Thanksgiving with my family in Florida. But not this year! 🙂

2) I’m Thankful I got to spend Thanksgiving with my Mom, Dad & Stepdad – together at one dinner. It meant so much to me. I’ve had  the “two household holidays” since I was 14, & I remember daydreaming about the day my whole family could sit at the Thanksgiving table together, enjoying one another’s company. And this Thanksgiving that wish came true. Maybe not in the most conventional ways I’d pictured it when I was a teenager, but I can’t imagine it any other way now. I love my Dad & I love my Stepdad too, so to spend Thanksgiving with both of them was certainly something to be thankful for.

3) I’m Thankful for my family. As exciting as moving to Hawaii for 3 years might be, I know that it comes with some prolonged separation from my family which is going to be tough. My Mom & I share a really close bond. We are best friends as much as we are Mother & Daughter, so being an ocean away is going to take some getting used to. Same goes for my Mimi & my two little sisters Sarah & Emily.

Stephanie, Emily, Sarah & Me

Emily, Mom & Me

Mimi - cooking some yummy gravy!

Emmers, singing her newest songs 🙂

Thanksgiving is the perfect time to take a step back, look at your life in perspective, & be Thankful for all that you have in your life. Most importantly, Thanksgiving reminds me to Be Present and make the most of every day, every opportunity, & every moment!

§ 2 Responses to Giving Thanks & Getting Emotional

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Giving Thanks & Getting Emotional at .

meta

