Running on Empty

December 18, 2010 § 2 Comments

Is it possible that I still have jet lag…17 days later?

It sure feels like it. My runs have been lousy and infrequent. Other runners were passing me all morning, and what would normally be a short run of 3.6 miles felt like I’d run another 1/2 marathon.

I’m not quite sure if it’s the jet lag, the lack of routine, the stress of getting our house put together or most likely a combination of these things – but my fitness is definitely suffering. I’m not too worried though. I am sure that once we get settled I’ll be able to get back into the swing of things and enjoy all the beautiful scenery. I’ve got a list of adventure/fitness things I want to try. The top of my list would be paddle boarding, outrigger rowing and surfing.

Last night Don & I went out to dinner. It’s safe to say we’ve found our favorite sushi restaurant, since we’ve already been to Doraku 3 times.

Not only do they have great sushi, but the seating looks out onto Kalakaua Ave. where you can people watch – which is what Don is doing in the picture below.

He’s so cute 😉 Anyhow, we walked around a bit and enjoyed the view and pretty Hawaiian Christmas decorations.

{Don't mind my blurry pictures}

Hopefully we’ll get to do some fun stuff this weekend. I’m really happy that Don gets some extra time off of work for the holiday’s so we should have plenty of time to celebrate the Christmas and our upcoming 1 year anniversary!

§ 2 Responses to Running on Empty

  • maxine says:

    Hey! You are living my dream; nice condo in hawaii close to Ala moana mall, and running marathons. I have been in different time zones for 21 days now and I am still a little lagged. One was 7 hours and now 11. Just keep working at it. Keep updating! Ps as for grad degree, i went through the same thing and work in different field. It looks good on a resume. I am waving to u across the pacific from Malaysia.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Running on Empty at .

meta

