Almost 2011

December 29, 2010 § Leave a comment

A jar of almond butter costs 8 bucks…

raw almonds cost about 3 bucks…

and the other day I bought a mini food processor for 20 bucks.

Why does any of this matter? Because for a $20 food processor investment I can now make my favorite food at home for less than half the price it costs in the grocery store!

Raw Almond Butter!

I am obsessed with almond butter. I eat it for breakfast with a banana at least every other day. But it is really expensive. At the H.E.B. in Texas it’d cost about $6 for a container, but here in Hawaii (where everything is more expensive) it ranges from $8-$11. Considering how much of it I eat I had to find an alternative & I was so excited when I discovered the power of the food processor!

All you need is 1-2 cups of unsalted raw roasted almonds, a food processor & some patience.

Put 1-2 cups almonds in the food processor & pulse on hi for 10-12 min or until it reaches a smooth consistency. You’ll have to scrape the sides from time to time as well.

It takes a while but it’s so worth it.

I also tried using cocoa roasted almonds but it was a little too sweet for me. Almond butter – so healthy & so yummy!

With the new year just a few days away I’ve been coming up with some goals & resolutions for 2011. I’ve always found that making an inspiration collage can be therapeutic and encouraging and when The Fitnessista recommended doing one for the New Year, I thought it was a great idea. My goals for this year are aimed at striving for my personal best in everything I do.

Although a lot of my resolutions are fitness related, the most important things on my list are finishing my Masters Degree & getting  a job!

Candace’s 2011 New Years Resolutions:

  • Finish Masters Degree
  • Get a job!!!!!!
  • Run my first full marathon
  • Learn to surf
  • Cook at least three times a week
  • Commit to a new fitness class (probably yoga)
  • Drink less vino
  • Develop my blog
  • Volunteer at least once a month

It’s a pretty hefty list, but I’m feeling ambitious. I’m living in a beautiful part of the world and I want to take advantage of every minute of it!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Almost 2011 at .

meta

