In the Spirit of Commitment

January 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’m a week into marathon training & already realizing that something needs to change.

I woke up this morning groggy & unmotivated. Why you ask? Probably because I had 2.5 glasses of vino with my dinner last night, which has become something of a habit.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I really enjoy wine. Note that I didn’t say alcohol, I specifically mean vino – (sparkling champagne varieties too). I don’t like liquor at all. I never drink mixed drinks. Occasionally I’ll crave a beer, but more often than not I’ll want a glass or 2 of wine at night.

I’ve noticed the negative affects of my indulgences before, most recently this past August when I cut out alcohol entirely for a month. I chose to cut out alcohol in August because I’d noticed a change in my attitude as well as my waist line & attributed it to numerous evenings of overindulging.

Now that I’ve committed to an active lifestyle I’ve started to see just how much a glass or two of wine the night before can affect my run the next day.

Plus, it stands to be said that running and alcohol have something in common. They are both addictive, and to be honest I’d much rather be addicted to running than wine. I won’t get into that too much, but I’ll just say that being unemployed on top of having a certain personality type presents opportunities that can break you down severely, or can push you into a different kind of positive habit – like running.

What I am getting at is that I really want to limit my drinking. I know that it’s not realistic for me to say that I’ll never want another glass of wine again, but I’d like to start leaving it for 1 or 2 nights a week, limiting it to 2 glasses max. This might seem like no big deal to some people, but it’s a big deal for me. Liken it to quitting soda or sugar, or even cigarettes.

I am putting it out in the open because I think it’s important to acknowledge that there are things we all struggle with. Rather than be ashamed & continue on a path that isn’t positively contributing to my life & health I’m willing to commit to a challenge & be held accountable.

I really want to improve my running & I just can’t keep up if I don’t make my health a top priority.

On that note, I did a 6 mile run this morning at about a 10 min p/mile pace. After that I started my first day of an ab routine that’s featured in this months Shape magazine. Seeing Brooke Burke on the cover has motivated me to work on toning my belly!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In the Spirit of Commitment at .

meta

