Mild Thai Green Curry with Soba Noodles

January 5, 2011 § 1 Comment

Since we’ve moved to Hawaii, I’ve felt the influence of Asian cuisine & developed a love for curry thanks to this place: Phuket Thai. There’s one across the street from our condo, & the Thai Elegant Tofu is so stinkin’ good. After realizing my love for curry I decided to try & make my own dish. I like hot curry, but this recipe is really mild because I didn’t want to ruin my first curry dish with too much spice. You could substitute the veggies for your own preferred mix. I just used what was in the fridge & seemed to fit the dish. For my first attempt it’s certainly not bad, but there are a few flavors missing, namely lemongrass & more spice.

Ingredients:

Tofu (for me)

Steak (for Don)

1 Cup Baby Carrots

1 palm sized piece of Ginger Root

1 bushel of green onion – sliced

1/2 cup sliced Shallots

2 cups green Cauliflower w/out stems

1  Can Bamboo Shoots

1 can Shiitake Mushrooms

1/2 can Coconut Milk

Coriander

Cumin

Salt & Pepper

Light Soy Sauce

Prepare the tofu (& said meat product) with salt, pepper, coriander & cumin.

Cook according to preference.

Mix carrots, ginger & green onion in food processor for about a minute.

Meanwhile add a drizzle of olive oil, cauliflower & shallots to the pan saute for 3-5 min.

With heat settings on 3-4 add carrot mix, mushrooms, bamboo shoots. Slowly mix in coconut milk, 1/2 cup water & 3 tsp green curry paste. Add soy to taste.

Simmer on low 5-7 min.

While simmering curry & veggies boil water & cook soba noodles for 3 min.

And there you have it – dinner for two!

This was happening while I was cooking & it was so beautiful I deemed it worthy of stepping away from the kitchen. The photo doesn’t do it justice.

Today I did another 6 mile run but I wasn’t feeling 100%. After that I walked to Starbucks (which ended up being way further than I anticipated) to work on the thesis and job search & then headed to the beach.  Nice day but I can’t wait to find a job & feel productive again. Please send positive employment thoughts my way 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Mild Thai Green Curry with Soba Noodles

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mild Thai Green Curry with Soba Noodles at .

meta

