Holy Spin Class

January 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

I went to my very first spin class today.

Let me just note that I did not realize that in order to ride a spin bike, your feet have to get stuck in these little cages.

Despite the fact that my middle name is Grace (thanks to my Mimi, my very graceful namesake) I tend to be rather – ungraceful. I won’t admit to being clumsy, because I hate that word & if you really want to hurt my feelings, just call me clumsy. Anyhow, as soon as I caught sight of the bikes I was praying that I didn’t fall off the bike with a foot stuck in one of the pedals. Thank God I did not fall off & to boot I got a killer workout. I have no doubt in my mind that I am going to be insanely sore tomorrow, but I think I’m going to make this a weekly habit. I’m glad I got out of my comfort zone & tried something new.

After class I went to the grocery store & found these really cool rice cake things by Mr. Wheat.

Only 16 calories per cake (they’re about the same size as a rice cake) & they have a bunch of quick recipes on their website! I know that rice cakes have a reputation for being empty diet food, but if you’ve really just got the munchies & don’t want something heavy I think these would make a great little snack.

And while I’m on a role, endorsing products from my grocery bags, if you like gooey brownies these are my favorite. The only ingredient is non-fat yogurt, so by skipping the eggs & oil of traditional brownies, these make a much better (but still really yummy) low calorie dessert.

And keeping with the theme of consumerism, I got some new lululemon run shorts in the mail today that I got off eBay for 1/2 the price (new with tags still attached!).

I love eBay! My new workout clothes obsession has motivated me to take on a new project of sorts. I really like cute fitness clothes but they can be so expensive! I’ve done a little sewing in the past so I think I’m going to try my hand at making a few things myself. I’m going to start with yoga pants. In high school I really wanted to go to Savannah College of Art Design for fashion. It was outrageously expensive so I didn’t go, but every now & then the desire to design comes out, & I think this could be a really fun, creative project. We’ll see how it goes!

For now I’m going to go whip something up for dinner…brownies maybe? 😉

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Holy Spin Class at .

meta

