The Dreamteam

January 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Last week was full of rain and in order to stay on track with my workouts I turned to the tried and true Bob & Jillian workout videos for some serious cross training. I’ve had these videos for years now. My favorites are JM’s Banish Fat Boost Metabolism, and No More Trouble Zones. I focused on both these workouts before my wedding in 2009, and felt confident & most importantly fit into my dress on my wedding day!

Since I’ve been running more consistently (and traveling a lot) I’ve neglected cross training and workout videos. So last week when I busted out JM’s No More Trouble Zones it nearly killed me. I did the workout on Thursday & I couldn’t walk properly until Sunday – no joke.

Aside from the initial pain, I’ve learned that getting at least a day of strength/cross training is really important when training for a race. Developing support muscles in your legs and back can help prevent knee injuries and keeps you balanced and strong.

On an inspirational note, I just got the most recent issue of Runners World, and was brought to tears by the article Moving Comfort, which tells the story of how Army wife and mother of 3, Lisa Hallett, used running to cope with the loss of her husband Capt. John Hallett who died in Afghanistan in August of 2009.

Image Source: army.mil

Hallett formed a group called Run to Remember where she and other wives run together in memory of fallen soldiers. These women are so strong and this story helps to put life’s little complaints into perspective. When you see others working through loss in such an inspirational way, it really makes you appreciate what you have.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Dreamteam at .

meta

