Runner’s Toes

February 17, 2011 § 3 Comments

12.6 miles today, woo hoo! They were certainly a slow 12 .6 miles, but I’m not really pushing myself for speed on my first full marathon.

After I finished I headed over to the Diamond Head Cove Health Bar to try out one of their Acai Bowls. Unfortunately, I wasn’t too impressed. First of all it was really stinking expensive – $9.80, and I didn’t realize they only accepted cash so I had to use their ATM (which charged me $2) so it ended up being a $12 smoothie! So for a $12 smoothie I had really high expectations. It ended up tasting super sweet (so if you like really sweet stuff you might love it) and I’m not a big sweets person so I ate about 1/4 and put the rest in the freezer because I couldn’t bear to throw it away! I don’t know if I’ll go back or not. They have some salads and wraps on their menu that look appetizing (and cost less than the Acai smoothie) so maybe I’ll give them a second chance.

On another note – a question for all the girly runners out there. Do you get pedicures when marathon training? My poor toes are looking blistered and blue and I wear flip flops or sandals ALL the time, but I feel like getting a pedicure is a waste because it will only last a few days with training. What do you gals do to keep your feet looking pretty while training?

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Runner’s Toes

  • Christiana says:

    I love pedicures, but I don’t get them when I’m Marathon training. I save the pedicure as a post marathon treat for myself. In the meantime, I use lots of lotion on my feet after I shower or bathe. In the summer time I do a quick polish on my toenails just so my feet look presentable in sandals.

    Christana

  • Kara says:

    I don’t get pedicures during training because they scrape off your calluses and that’s not good when you’re training (you need them!) Plus, my feet are usually a wreck while training anyway, so it’s a waste of money 🙂

    I get one after the wounds have healed after the race, to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Runner’s Toes at .

meta

