Pre-Race Checklist

February 21, 2011 § 4 Comments

 

I’m getting my race gear ready the night before since I’m going to be getting up earrrrly in the morning. Since the race starts and ends at two separate locations, I have to drive my car to the finish line and take a shuttle bus to the starting line. The race starts at 7am which means they’re advising parking your car at 4am in order to beat the traffic – there are over 25,000 participants!

And now for the Pre-Race Checklist. I hope I’m not forgetting anything!

  • Race Number (and safety pins)
  • Race ID tag and zip ties
  • Camelback
  • Energy Gels (Sharkies)
  • Camera
  • Mini sweat towel
  • i-pod
  • Heart rate monitor
  • Knee brace
  • Sunglasses
  • Ion bracelet
  • ID & cash

and last but not least

  • Pre-race manicure – I like to have something girly to balance out the sporty πŸ˜‰ (In Kathrine Switzer’s book Marathon Woman, she talks about wearing a ribbon in her hair at the 1974 New York Marathon to set herself apart from the boys.)

Hopefully it’ll be a fun race. I’m not really setting a time goal, I’d just like to meet some new friends and enjoy my first race in Hawaii!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Pre-Race Checklist

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pre-Race Checklist at .

meta

