Missing Mellow Mushroom

March 10, 2011 § 1 Comment

Back in Orlando, Don & I’s favorite pizza place was Mellow Mushroom. Seriously, Best. Pizza. Ever.

Needless to say, there was no Mellow Mushroom in San Angelo, Texas and there is no Mellow Mushroom in Honolulu either.

So I attempted to recreate my favorite menu selection – The Philosophers Pie subbing the steak for chicken & eliminating the shrooms & artichokes (I hate artichokes!).

Ok, so Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Whole Grain Pizza Crust mix tastes nothing like the deliciousness that is the Mellow Mushroom garlic butter heavenly pizza crust – but I was trying to bring the decadence down a notch.

Healthy-ish pizza crust in the making. When I formed the dough, I added in about 1/2 the log of goat cheese, and worked it into the crust of the pizza .

While preparing the crust I grilled some chicken strips with olive oil, garlic salt and fresh ground pepper.

After baking the plain crust for 8 min.  (as instructed by the pizza crust instructions), I added red and white onions, fresh mozzarella, basil and chicken.

The finished product was good  – had some of the toppings’ flavors of the Mellow Mushroom pie, but the crust just didn’t hold up. It tasted really really doughy. Maybe that’s just the drawback to homemade pizza crust, but it left me craving the original Philosopher’s Pie more than ever.

So on to news on the Marathon training front.

Today was the best of runs and the worst of runs.

It was the best because I ran 6 miles at an average pace of 8 min 30 sec. (6 miles in 51 min – I don’t have a Garmin to do splits so I just have to calculate an average pace).

It was the worst because I finished off the jar of MaraNatha crunchy peanut butter – and did not let it digest before I ran – resulting in a 3 hour post run “toss your cookies (or peanut butter)” session. Blegh.

I’ve since recovered I’m contemplating whether or not tomorrow or Friday I’m going to tackle the 16 miler. I’m just going to see how I feel tomorrow & go with it.

16 miles is SCARY!

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Missing Mellow Mushroom

  • Kara says:

    16 miles is scary, but at least now you know what NOT to eat right before!

    I like the idea of adding goat cheese to the pizza crust!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Missing Mellow Mushroom at .

meta

