The Purple Potato

March 23, 2011 § 1 Comment

Since moving to Hawaii I’ve discovered lots of exciting new foods native to the Pacific. Suprisingly one of my favorites is a potato. The Okinawan Sweet Potato that is. The first thing that drew me to this spectacular spud was it’s psychedelic purple hue. I saw it for the first time in the Whole Foods Hot Bar – and the rest was history.

So last night I cooked up some of my favorite purple spuds and I also used another new Hawaiian food, Macadamia Nut Oil to cook grilled chicken with.

It gave the chicken a light nutty flavor.

In training news, the winds are killing me. Seriously we had sustained trade winds of 20mph and gusts of up to 50mph! I literally almost got blown off the sidewalk! The only thing I can compare running in high winds to is running up a hill. You get some major resistance from the winds and it pretty much feels like you’re parachute running.

My heart rate monitor reported a max HR of 194, average 173 today on a 5.5 mile run. That’s some hard work! All I can think is that it may be preparing me for some unexpected trade winds on Marathon Day (but I sure hope not)!

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to The Purple Potato

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Purple Potato at .

meta

