20 minus 2

March 26, 2011 § 5 Comments

Ok so my 20 mile run planned for yesterday ended at 18 miles.

Overall it wasn’t fun and honestly left me questioning whether or not I really want to do this marathon at all.

But after getting over my self defeating attitude I took a look at some of the ways I could have better prepared for the long run that might have made the experience more enjoyable.

  • Eat and drink more efficiently during the week of a long run.

I tend to be a bit of a wino and although I’ve cut back significantly, I had 2 glasses of wine with dinner the night before and probably did not drink enough water. I also need to plan out my night before meal more thoroughly. I was still kind of wishy washy on Thursday night as to if I was going to do the 20 miler on Friday or Saturday. Consequently my dinner of frozen pizza from Whole Foods probably wasn’t the most wholesome fuel.

  • Get up earlier.

I usually have good intentions of waking up early enough to start my long runs while it’s still dark out but more often than not, the alarm clock doesn’t win and I get a late start. For instance yesterday I woke up around 8 (when I’d set my alarm for 5). Knowing that I’d already missed my early timeline I ate breakfast & lollygagged until I finally set foot on the course at 10:15. Consequently it was hot from the very beginning. It was also extremely windy which I have no control over, and although the trade winds can be refreshing when your standing still they can be quite an added challenge when you are running.

  • Figure out the “gear” situation.

Although I love my Camelback, it can be really bulky and can lead to some uncomfortable chaffing issues. I’ve never had an issue with it before, but yesterday I had it stuffed full of water (it’s intended purpose), my camera, wallet, phone, keys and my tank top that I shed halfway thorough. Since it was stuffed to the brim I ended up with a chaffing rash on my back that felt like a bee sting!

  • Address joint pain before a run.

My right knee has been irritated for months. It’s not really an injury, but it just feels bruised. I wear a support strap but I don’t think it’s doing much other than giving me a funky tan line. Since my knees felt like glass yesterday I’m going to make a point of seeking out some sports medicine advice and hopefully discover some ways to lessen the stress on my joints.

Ultimately, all those factors combined yesterday and I felt like it was in my best interest to call it a day at 18. I still have room in my training schedule to fit in a 20 mile run, and next time I’ll be more prepared.

Even though I didn’t finish 20 I still rewarded myself 🙂

Have a great weekend!

 

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to 20 minus 2

  • Kyla says:

    18 is still a hell of a run! you should be so proud of yourself. it sounds like you learned a lot. do you do any energy gel or anything along the way? that’s one thing that i wish i had done just for the half-marathon. i think it makes a big, big difference. and sometimes, we just have runs that suck for a number of circumstances, but it doesn’t mean that it won’t be easier next time. just look how far you’ve come!

    • infitation says:

      Thank you! I usually bring Sharkies (energy gummies) with me but I forgot them this time! I thought gatorade would do the trick but it didn’t quite cut it. Next time I’m making sure I bring some sort of snack on such a long run!

  • Kara says:

    I only did up to 18 and I was still able to do my marathon no problem!

    I always make sure to drink at least 32 EXTRA ounces of water the day before a long run and before my marathon, I drank Gatorade the night before.

    I can’t help you with the alarm situation, the baby gets me up very early, so that’s not an issue with me.

    I try to leave water for myself at a midway point so I don’t have to take my camelback because it annoys me for long runs. Maybe loop back and refill a handheld water bottle?

    Gu is gross, but it works wonders!

  • ashleyedu says:

    Candace, you look so good! All of that running really compliments you and you are so tan! 18 is so impressive!

    • infitation says:

      Thanks Ashley! Up close I have a ridiculous runners(farmers) tan but at least you can’t tell in pictures 😉
      p.s. I’m loving your Italy pictures on FB. Hope you are having the best time!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 20 minus 2 at .

meta

