Weekend Wrap Up

March 27, 2011 § 2 Comments

This weekend has been pretty quiet and relaxing.

Saturday Don & I went up to the North Shore so I could drive the race course for the Marathon.

Thankfully it wasn’t as hilly as I was expecting, although I did think there’d be more of an ocean view.

The race starts in a fairly small state park.

It then loops through the Historic Haleiwa Town. We were just driving through so I didn’t have a chance to take very many photo’s of Haleiwa, but I’ll probably go back this week sometime to explore some of the cool little stores.

The race course turns around at Kaena Point which is the northwestern tip of the island and the road dead ends. Kaena Point is said to be one of the most sacred spots in Hawaii, as local folklore suggests that it is the place where the souls of ancient Hawaiians jump of the lava formed mountain and into the spirit world.

The dead end led to a off road course where there were a few fellow jeeps exploring the trail. We stayed on the road though and took a few “before” photos of the new wheels. Like I mentioned before, the hard top needs a new paint job, and Don wants to get new (bigger) tires and rims but I already love my new jeep!

I also had the pleasure of enjoying my very first Blogger “friend date”. I met up with Angela from Aloha: Yinz Mangia! at La Tour Cafe. We chatted it up over brunch and macaroons and I had a great time! Angela is really funny and super easy to talk to, so much so that we lost track of time! I can’t wait to get together soon and hopefully learn some cooking tips from her (her blog is full of all kinds of yummy looking food). 🙂

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Weekend Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekend Wrap Up at .

meta

