Surprisingly Delicious

April 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

This post is going to seem a little commercial, and no Ziploc is not sponsoring my blog, but I just had to share how awesome these magical steam bags are.

So it all started when I got back from a hilly 8.2 mile run and was hungry but craving something salad-like. We didn’t have any lettuce in the house, but I did have some kale. I’d bought it to juice because I don’t really like the texture of raw kale in salads. But as I was poking around the kitchen I re-discovered these Ziploc steam baggies that I’d bought months ago and never used.

I decided to see how they’d work on that kale, hoping for the end product to be the perfect base for a warm salad. You just wash & dry the kale, seal it into the steam bag & pop it in the microwave for 2 minutes.

Then I added 2 eggs and some locally grown cocktail tomatoes with a little salt & pepper – et voila! I wasn’t sure what to expect but it was surprisingly tasty, filling, and wholesome. A new favorite I think. And those steam bags are pretty much my new favorite lazy day (or time crunched day) cooking tool.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Surprisingly Delicious at .

meta

