Artistic Endeavors

April 5, 2011 § 4 Comments

I spend a lot of time thinking about my career goals and how feasible it will be for me to pursue a career in Political Science while maintaining a transitory always changing Military lifestyle.  I sometimes think that my ongoing battle to finish my Masters thesis has something to do with the fact that I am unsure of my career plans. I’m not using that as an excuse though, I will finish and once I am through it is an accomplishment that can never be taken away from me, no matter where I am located.

Although, since I was young I’ve always had a passion for the arts. Painting, drawing, sculpting – you name it. I decided not to pursue Fine Arts in college because I was unsure of the career opportunities (looks like the jokes on me). But thankfully art is something that you can take with you anywhere, and once you discover your passion for creativity, professional education in the arts isn’t absolutely necessary. And now days with social networking and online shops like Etsy, you can produce and sell your art quite easily.

Which brings me to my newest project. I am going to earnestly work on creating some original art, and maybe even a few extra creative side projects and start selling on Etsy.

My first project probably won’t be for sale because I’m painting it to hang in our bedroom, but I thought it would be fun to share its stages of completion on the blog.  So without further adieu, this is the base layer – the very first stage of my Beach Cruiser painting. I’ll be posting further updates as I go along.

I’m also continuing to take a ceramics class so I’ll be working on a ceramic portfolio as well, and I’m hoping to find a sewing instructor for some really cool sewing project  ideas I have that are fitness related!

Aside from all things artsy, I made a really good salmon pasta dinner last night and thought I’d share the recipe. Super easy and filling. A good base dinner for the night before a distance run or a race.

Salmon & Pea Pasta

Ingredients

2 4oz pieces of salmon (skin removed)

1 tbsp olive oil (or other tasty cooking oil – I used macadamia nut oil)

1 tsp dill

S&P to taste

4 slices turkey bacon

6-8 cocktail tomatoes

1 1/2 cup frozen peas

1 pkg angel hair pasta

1 tsp butter

Directions

While pasta is cooking, boil peas. Heat oil in grill pan on medium heat and grill salmon about 5 min, add turkey bacon to the pan & flip salmon cooking the other side for an additional 5 min.

Remove turkey bacon and salmon from grill pan. Add the tomatoes and saute in left over oil for about 5 min (you could add some basil & garlic for extra flavor).

Drain peas.

Drain pasta & add tsp of butter.

Pull apart the salmon into smaller pieces – do the same for the turkey bacon.

Serve up a about a cup of cooked pasta and top with salmon, turkey bacon, peas and tomatoes.

Et Voila!

PS: I got my very first twitter account for the blog today & boy is it addicting!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Artistic Endeavors

  • Jenna M. says:

    Candace, this is so weird because I have been wanting to do paint and sell on Etsy. I bought this book of abstract art lessons at HL the other day and it made me so excited about learning to paint. I still haven’t started mine, I’ve been too scared without some kind of lesson, but I’m really excited about learning about it. And I have that Galleria paint. Good luck and I can’t wait to see your finished product! You’re so artistic.

    • infitation says:

      Jenna you should do it! It seems like you’ve got some creative energy just waiting to come out! I’ve been waiting to hear what you came up with (also waiting for you to get a blog 😉 ). I know it’s difficult to just put it out there though. I debated all day over if I wanted to blog about this or not, but in the end really whats the worst that can come from it? We are our own worst critics!

  • Kara says:

    I wish I was creative or artsy like you! I still draw like a 5th grader (coincidentally, that’s when my last art class was….) 🙂

  • […] It hardly took 5 minutes to make and I really like how it turned out! I also recently finished that painting I started a few months ago and I’m planning on sharing a post on the process of painting it […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Artistic Endeavors at .

meta

