In the Direction of Purpose

April 14, 2011 § 4 Comments

As yesterday’s post may have conveyed, I’m reevaluating a few things, and trying to figure out how to make the most out of not having direct control over things like the job market. I’ve been thinking about my career goals, my educational goals and the overall direction I want my life to go in. And thankfully, I am fortunate to be in a unique position where I can explore my options through volunteering and interning while I’m learning the direction I want to go in.

Oddly enough, while exploring some reading material on traveling (inspired by my friend Toni’s post Enchanted) I came across this site: The Art of Non-Conformity and then read it’s manifesto, A Brief Guide to World Domination. It’s funny to me how we can sometimes struggle for long periods of time, seemingly directionless, and then in an instant – things come together with one spark of inspiration and you begin to find yourself automatically connecting to tools that help you in your journey. Finding this site and it’s motivating ideas really aligns with my thinking over the weekend.

I’m slowly finding my way back to reconnecting with my purpose – or at least I’m making a concerted effort at finding it. In The Art of Non-Conformity Manifesto author Chris Guillbeau poses two crucial questions to the reader: #1 What do you really want to get out of life? and #2 What can you offer the world that no one else can?.

I’m going to spend some time meditating on these questions, I don’t know the answers yet, but I do know that ever since this weekend I’ve felt a sense of peace and balance that was absolutely missing from my mindset for quite sometime now. I have gone through some big transitions over the past few years, all of them have been positive but it has still been challenging to figure out where I fit into my new life.

There are a few books that I’ve read in the past that have served as tools for direction that you may find useful for in your own life. My personal favorite is The Power of Intention, by Wayne Dyer. This book really made an impact on my overall mindset for goal setting and ultimately gave me the encouragement I needed to embark on the challenge of running my first marathon.

Another book (cliche, yes – but I don’t care) is Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. My Mom introduced me to this author when she gave me a copy of The Last American Man, (another great book by Glibert). Eat Pray Love really spoke to the creative side of me, and encouraged my ambitions to see, explore and learn about the world.

I’m beginning to see that there is a theme that emerges among these books, my choice in majoring in International Relations, my creative side, and my transitory lifestyle. I’m excited to explore this theme more thoroughly and I’m incredibly happy to feel like I’m heading in the right direction. For the first time  in a long time, I feel like my degrees are worth something. Maybe not to the Human Resources Department of said corporation who get their pick of the litter because we are in a crazy difficult job market, but they mean something to me! And I have the power to use my education, my passion for the world, how I see fit.

And for now, that’s my Purpose.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to In the Direction of Purpose

  • Dad says:

    Sounds like you should listen to Soul Purpose………
    I know…I know.

    Love ya kid

  • Angie says:

    I love your search for a much better, happier, more fulfilling life!

    Let’s plan our next outing, I just loaded up on Crystal Light for you!

  • lavietoni says:

    I love this post and I want to check out some of those other books. I got kind of distracted in the 2nd part of Eat, Pray, Love but maybe I’ll pick it up again..I admit I was more into reading about food than meditation :b Thanks for the motivation.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In the Direction of Purpose at .

meta

