Cut & Paste Your Way Out of a Funk

April 18, 2011 § 15 Comments

Long time no blog – well actually it’s been 3 days.

I usually try to conjure up a weekend adventure to share but truthfully this weekend was pretty low-key. We did go out to dinner in Waikiki to an Italian restaurant called Il Lupino. As you may imagine, there aren’t too many Italian restaurants on Oahu – at least none that I’ve come across. So when I spotted this Italian restaurant right in the heart of Waikiki’s shopping strip I thought for sure it would have something to offer. Not so much. I made reservations and we were sat at a brightly lit table with a view of the kitchen (none of the chef’s looked remotely Italian). The service was awkward. There were about 15 busboys who were very attentive but the server only took our order and then came back to check on us once I asked one of the busboys if he could locate our waiter. The food reminded me of Olive Garden. It wasn’t bad but it sure as heck wasn’t anything special (especially for the price). Needless to say I was underwhelmed and didn’t take any photos because it just wasn’t that great!

The rest of the weekend was spent stressing out preparing for a phone interview that took place this morning. I’m not going to divulge the details of where I interviewed but I’ll say that it aligns perfectly with my career goals and my education, and I want this job so bad. That being said, phone interviews are no fun. I spent hours going over potential questions, preparing my answers and researching the organization but I was still asked a few questions that I was unprepared for and I am just hoping and praying that I pulled it off in order to qualify for a second interview. I’ve spent all day reflecting on those few questions, going over them again and again in my mind, thinking of how I could have answered differently, but all I can do at this point is take a step back and hope that my earnest desire to fill this position came across to the interviewer.

In other news, I had a little appearance related identity crisis this weekend. Before Don & went out to dinner on Saturday night, I had one of those “pull all of your clothes out of your closet and nothing looks right” moments. And unfortunately I have those moments quite often. I like to think that in high school and college I had a defined sense of style. Maybe a little on the quirky side but it my style still said something about me. Lately though I’ve been feeling the opposite of fashionable. So after I threw on a tried and true LBD, swearing to Don all the way to dinner that I was going to throw away all my clothes and invest in an all black wardrobe – I came up with a better idea.

In my first few years of college I was really artistically inspired and was all about letting my creative side shine. In order to collect inspiration I would create collage journals which consisted of clippings from magazines like Lucky, Jane, Domino and Bust. Here’s a look into some of the pages of my college collage book

My inspiration collage books of the present are much more concentrated than the uber creative collages of my college years and so while having a crisis of confidence I turned to my current collage book – which I’ve maintained for about 2 years, for inspiration.

After garnering some inspiration I decided it was time to clean out my closet – not as extreme as I’d previously suggested, but still, some serious editing needed to be done. So… I went from this (note that I don’t have a walk in closet, I have 2 sliding closets so you can’t really see the expanse of unworn items)

To these three piles of Donation Items, To Be Tailored Items and Ebay Items, plus a whole bunch of shoes.

I maintained an Ebay store for a while when I lived in Orlando, but I haven’t launched any auctions since I’ve lived in Hawaii. I love Ebay because it’s a simple way to purge your closet of items you don’t wear while making some cash to replace them. Once I get my items listed I’ll post a link in case any readers are interested in buying. If so be sure to note that your a blog buyer & I’ll send you a Hawaiian souvenir 🙂

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Cut & Paste Your Way Out of a Funk

  • Angie says:

    Are you sending them cockroaches? HAHA Just kidding 🙂

    I, too, had a phone interview today!

    We found a really good, really adorable Italian restaurant. Seriously, let’s plan the next outing because the list is getting long.

    • infitation says:

      Only the big ones! You could always cast them in some sort of metal & make a trendy necklace 😉
      What if we’re interviewing for the same job!?! That would be weird.

      Anyhow, I need your restaurant expertise, we are running out of ideas! Any time you want to get together let me know. I’m pretty sure we’re free this weekend.

      • Angie says:

        This weekend is really busy for us, and Easter! Let’s plan for next weekend. Does Friday, April 29 work?

        I doubt it’s the same job, if it’s your DREAM job. It’s not dreamy 🙂

      • infitation says:

        That works for me! Maybe we should go somewhere with French Fries since Lent will be over 😉

  • Maxine says:

    Hi Candace,
    Very cool collages; you definitely have a creative flair. This may sound like a silly question, but how do you find life in Hawaii as for maintaining healthy habits? I am always curious about that for other cities and places.

    • infitation says:

      Hey Maxine, Hawaii is great for maintaining healthy habits! There are a ton of local Farmers Markets, even on days of the week, there are great health food stores like Whole Foods, Down to Earth and Great Harvest Bakery. Eating out is of course challenging no matter where you live but I use the “everything in moderation” so I don’t feel like I’m missing out on trying something new (I’ve fallen in love with Thai food living here). Plus there’s a ton of fresh seafood which is super healthy.
      As far as staying active, Hawaii has so much to offer. You can go hiking, mountain climbing, surfing etc. and there are a ton of really beautiful public parks. I’d say that out of all the places I’ve lived (Orlando FL, Sarasota FL, San Angelo TX & Hawaii) that Hawaii makes healthy living the most accessible!

  • Errign says:

    I hope your phone interview went well 🙂

    I have never sold anything on Ebay but I do love to go through my clothes & clear things away!

  • Kara says:

    I hope you get the job (or at least another interview!)

    I have NO style at all. I just buy whatever Old Navy tells me is fashionable. 🙂

    • infitation says:

      I used to go to Old Navy all the time but their new commercials drive me nuts! I swore to Don that I was going to stop shopping there b/c the commercials were so obnoxious, haha. They do have cute clothes though!

  • lavietoni says:

    I have a HUGE amount of clothes I’ve been meaning to sell for months but I’m so intimidated about using Ebay, dealing with shipping, etc. Am I overreacting? Do you have any tips for how you go about doing it?

    I love your inspiration collages. I used to the same, sometimes in a collage style like yours, sometimes using a 3-ring binder system with clear inserts. Now that I’m getting ready to move home I should probably purge my magazine collection so maybe that will mean tearing out my favorite pages and doing something w/ them again.

    Sending positive thoughts about the job!!!

    • infitation says:

      I was anxious about selling on Ebay at first too, mainly because I didn’t want to set up a Paypal account. But I just set up a separate bank account for paypal & have been pretty successful with it. As far as shipping goes, more often than not I use the prepaid priority boxes from usps so that I’m sure I’m not over or under charging for shipping and I always try to ship the day the buyer pays. Also be sure you indicate any flaws the item may have and take pictures of the flaws if there are any, and clearly state the sizes and measurements. Also post if you do or don’t accept returns. I usually don’t accept returns to keep it simple. I only post 1-2 pictures b/c it can get kind of expensive otherwise but a lot of people who have serious Ebay stores use a separate photo forum but I’ve never gone that far. I hope that helps! If you have anymore questions I’d be glad to help 🙂

  • Toni says:

    Thanks! That is a big help! I wonder if I’ll actually get around to doing it…I think using the prepaid priority boxes is a huge help. Thanks again.

  • Toni says:

    Re-reading my last comment is painful haha

  • Brenna says:

    Hey! I had an Ebay store when I lived in Orlando, too. I’d buy things from thrift stores, sew them up just a little bit cuter, and sell them for ungodly amounts to hipsters & scenesters online. Well, actually, I still kind of do!

    I like your collages. They say a lot about you. & as for your “low key weekend”, going out to eat is big, big excitement in Minot, ND.

    The beach photo is absolutely gorgeous, thank you for bringing some sunshine to my day – perhaps it will coax the sun out on this side of the world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cut & Paste Your Way Out of a Funk at .

meta

