FITspiration

April 19, 2011 § 2 Comments

This morning I went on one of my favorite runs. Running around Diamond Head is challenging because of the elevation, but it is so beautiful.

8.2 miles isn’t so bad when you’ve got a view like that. It was HOT as all get out though. And I inevitably end up having to awkwardly share an elevator with 4 of my apartment neighbors on my way up to the 7th floor. I felt pretty bad for them because I am quite positive that I did not smell very good.

I did manage to list most of my “sellable” items on Ebay today – you can find my store under candacegrace on Ebay – and I donated a bunch of things to the Airman’s Attic as well.

The whole time I was running this morning I was conjuring up scenarios for Marathon Day (just 11 days to go) and I ended up daydreaming about what I’m going to wear. Yeah I know – all that hard work & training and I’m concerned about my outfit – I’m a girl, what can I say. In hopes of selling some of my Ebay items I figured I’ll be able to pay for a new Lululemon running get up. Yes, their clothes are expensive but when I break it down to a “cost per wear” I can justify the purchase. Lululemon fits so well, and their items are built to last. You might pay a pretty penny but if your working out 5 days a week, you’ll absolutely get your money’s worth.

I ended up buying the Cool Racerback in purple to go with my favorite Madras printed Run Speed Shorts.

I think it looks pretty festive, kind of beachy – a good outfit for my first marathon, plus I know it will be super comfortable.

While I was running today I started to think about how much time & energy I’ve dedicated to training for this marathon. And then I started to think about some of my blog friends who have accomplished marathons & more: as a new mother, or as as a full time Grad student who also has a job, and I can’t imagine how much more dedication it must take to train for a marathon when you’ve got to put on another hat for the rest of the day.
It’s really inspiring, that’s for sure.

I’m not sure if I’ll continue to race after this marathon. Maybe I will and I’ll train for shorter distances. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little burnt out on running, but its those few who I previously mentioned that keep me motivated.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to FITspiration

  • Errign says:

    Cute outfit 🙂 I too groan a little bit about paying more for workout clothes, but I know the stuff that’s better quality & more expensive lasts longer (and looks cuter!)

  • Kara says:

    I love that outfit!

    Thanks for the shout out, I think training for a marathon is hard no matter what!

    As soon as you finish that marathon, you’ll want to find more races, or even if you take some time off, you will want to run again. Just maybe not for a week or two 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading FITspiration at .

meta

