What Next?

May 4, 2011 § 1 Comment

As predicted, two days after the marathon & I was itching out of my skin for a new goal. I all but pushed the registration button for an upcoming May 29th 1/2 marathon, and then second guessed myself, leaving a few more days to think about it. The thing I loved about marathon training was that it gave me a tangible goal to work towards. As I reflect on the experience, I’m not so sure that I’m train for another full marathon this year. I have some looming academic and professional goals that I’ve been neglecting and I think it’s time to reorient my focus a bit.

With that said, I am most certainly going to keep running. Presently, I’d like to focus on speed work, improving my diet and maybe getting a pair of Vibram 5 fingers. After 2 post-marathon rest days I completed a 5k run on base today with the intention of working on my speed & pace.

I finished in 26:40 but there was a lot of wind which made it feel pretty challenging. My speed goal for this month is to complete a 5k in 25:00. My “pie in the sky” some day goal for speed is to finish a 5k in 21:00, but for now that’s a lofty goal which I don’t anticipate meeting for months to come.

I’d also really like to start taking some strength training classes. I’ve heard so many good things about Body Pump classes but they aren’t offered at the base gym so I may have to look elsewhere to find one. I’ve also got 2 Beachbody programs, P90x and Brazil Butt Lift that I haven’t done in months so maybe I’ll work those into my new routine.

I’ve also got a killer new playlist full of new songs I downloaded for the marathon. Some of my favorite new artists: The Airborne Toxic Event, Arcade Fire, The Boxer Rebellion, Vib Gyor, Jessie J, and The Asteroids Galaxy Tour.

ps: Yes I discovered The Asteroids Galaxy Tour from that awesome Heineken commercial. I so want to go to that party.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to What Next?

  • Kara says:

    Body Pump is really fun. They have it on base here and I used to go before the baby.

    Be careful with those Vibrams, I know (like real life know, not blog know) 3 people with stress fractures from running in those!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What Next? at .

meta

