There’s a World Outside This Box

May 7, 2011 § 4 Comments

Don took this photo of a storefront in Haleiwa town last weekend while I was running the marathon. From the moment I saw this photo I couldn’t stop going back to it, studying it, really thinking about what that message meant to me.

Outside this box lives a world that is real. Stop pretending it doesn’t exist or soon nothing will.

My favorite book of all time is Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. Farenheit 451 was published in 1953, decades before the internet, smartphones, and flat screen high-def TV, yet Bradbury developed a prophetic account of future reliance on technology through the main character’s wife Mildred. Mildred is an aloof character whose main occupation is her “interactive television” with which she spends most of her day “interacting” with.

After looking at this photo, over and over, I realized I could easily compare my daily life to Mildred’s.  I do usually make a point of spending at least an hour a day outside, but other than that I am completely and totally engrossed in my computer. And on top of that I live in Hawaii! One of the most picturesque, photogenic places I’ve ever lived – and I’ve spent a whole lot of the 6 months I’ve lived here staring at a computer screen.

Blogging and social networking has given me countless positive experiences. Through this blog I’ve met new people, been inspired and awed by others accomplishments, and learned to express myself in an open and honest way.

But I’ve also come to realize that beautiful, tangible, experiences and adventures are waiting in the wings while I spend countless hours in front of my handy netbook.

I’ve always sought to be genuine in everything I do. I want the my life to be constantly inspired which means that I have to be willing to admit to myself when certain hobbies, occupations etc. no longer fit with my personal goals. Which is why I’ve decided to unplug a bit more. I don’t want to completely abandon blogging, but for now I’m deciding to rein it in. I may post some adventures here and there, but I’m not going to continue to post on the everyday aspects of my life. I’m cutting back on facebook & twitter too. Since I live so far away from my family & friends social networking really does serve a valuable purpose, but I have to be honest with myself in knowing that these sites are also a huge distraction and a catalyst for procrastination and anxiety.

This blog has been a great form of self expression for me & I’m so thankful for the meaningful interactions with new readers, new friends, and the opportunity to share my life with my friends and family back home. For now though, I’m setting my sights on a few personal goals and I just want anyone who reads this blog to know that I appreciate the  motivation and support that you’ve contributed to these 8, very transitional, months of my life.

§ 4 Responses to There’s a World Outside This Box

  • Maxine says:

    Very inspiring!

  • Kara says:

    It’s great to unplug a little. I find that I enjoy my time on the computer more when I’m not on it all day. 🙂

  • mom says:

    I understand but oh no! I live for these blogs it keeps me conected in such a wonderful way! I enjoy your writing and pics so much! PLEASE don’t stop the blogs. Love , Mom

  • Jenna M. says:

    Good for you! I’ve learned a lot from your blog and I hope to try to “unplug” some too. Sometimes, we all need to step back and count how much time I spend watching tv, facebook, and reading blogs. It’s kind of endless, and we need to pick and choose carefully how we’re going to spend our time.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading There’s a World Outside This Box at .

meta

