latest creations

June 7, 2011 § 7 Comments

Art is the unique result of a unique temperament. – Oscar Wilde

Remember that pottery class that I talked about way back in March?
Well I finally got my little ceramic creations back from the kiln today!
I love the way they turned out & finally seeing a finished result has inspired me to keep at it. Hopefully when my schedule clears up I’ll be able to meet up with some friends I met in class and we can continue to learn new techniques together.
I was in a creative mood all day today & as a result I did a quick little art project & rearranged some wooden crates to act as a make-shift book shelf for my cookbooks.
I’ve had a bunch of these simple glass frames from Ikea & decided to make use of one be framing one of my favorite quotes. I just printed the text off of MS Word & then painted over it with watercolor & acrylics. It hardly took 5 minutes to make and I really like how it turned out!
I also recently finished that painting I started a few months ago and I’m planning on sharing a post on the process of painting it this week sometime.
Tagged: , ,

§ 7 Responses to latest creations

  • mickiruns says:

    Love the bowls!! I was looking into that before we left Fort Sill, but there wasn’t a place around [go figure].

    Can’t wait to see your finished product.

    You are quite the little package, woman!

    • infitation says:

      I never even though of checking the A&C center at our last base in San Angelo because I had gotten the vibe that it was just for kiddos, but they actually offer a good variety of classes at Hickam. I was so surprised & wish I hadn’t been so apprehensive about checking it out in the first place!

  • Angie says:

    I love the crates, they have so much character! Have you made anything from the Julia Child book?! I have the Hungry Girl (green) book too, although I don’t love it. Your creations are adorable. Let’s make plans again soon πŸ™‚

    • infitation says:

      I haven’t attempted any of Julia’s recipes yet…they ALL seem so intimidating. My mom bought me the book for Christmas since we both loved the movie Julie & Julia. Anthony Bourdain’s book is the same way. I’d love to try some of the recipes but I feel like I need some culinary training first!

  • lavietoni says:

    That pottery is GORGEOUS! You should definitely keep at it!

  • maxineyvr says:

    Those are absolutely beautiful! I love the different colors and shapes. There is something really magical about things you make.

    • infitation says:

      Thank you guys!

      Maxine, that’s such a sweet, and encouraging compliment πŸ™‚

      Maybe once I finish all this school stuff I’ll start an Etsy shop or something.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading latest creations at .

meta

